sticksinthehead

life with sticks in one's head

Right, and here we are

leave a comment »

Don’t know much what to write in a “first post”. So I suppose I’ll just write what I’m up to, when I’m not wasting time on the interwebs (not all of the time on the interwebs is wasted, but a good amount is). Chief among my commitments are my doctors appointments: doc #1 on Tuesdays and Fridays, doc #2 once a month, usually on a Wednesday or a Thursday.

Next week I’ll also be riding the bus with a bunch of other activists down to D.C. to walk the last mile of Melanie’s March, a march in memory of Melanie Shouse, a dedicated Philly health care reform activist who died recently after a long fight with cancer, a fight in which she found herself financially alone. During her treatment, Melanie lost her health insurance, had to stop treatment, and eventually lost her life. Melanie’s March started last week in Philly, when a group of hc activists began their trek, by foot, to Washington D.C., planning to arrive just in time of President Obama’s Healthcare Summit. I’ll be joining them for the last mile of the trek and the rally planned for arrival.

Then on Thursday, hopefully after spending the night with friends in D.C., I’ll head back to Philly for two events: 1) a Jobs with Justice/PSOU rally for fighting safety improvements among other things, and 2) and community support meeting with the Kaolin Workers Union, the only mushroom workers union in Kennett Square, PA, the mushroom capital of the world.

Somewhere in there I’m going to try to figure out how properly to print the 2010 planner I designed for my best NYC mate, such that the signatures yield the proper order of days…

All this with a negative bank account!

Written by sticksinthehead

22 February 2010 at 8:33 pm

Posted in Labor, Politics

Leave a Reply

