sticksinthehead

life with sticks in one's head

I just skimmed the OPR report on the torture memos

leave a comment »

and it seems like big shot Yoo enlisted the help of an inexperienced lawyer to do the shitwork for his shit work. Hmmm, think she felt secure in challenging the boss? One more bad apple I guess (though the OPR report definitely does not make this judgment).

Also, the OPR report is, well, lame — it does determine that the lawyers did not fulfill their ethical responsibilities to their client/s, but does not recommend disciplinary action to any state bar associations. What’s the point of the report, then? It sort of blows gently on the wrists of the gaggle of torture lawyers.

Just ordered Clive Stafford Smith’s book on Gitmo. I don’t know why I keep reading these books (I’ve read at least 5)… I’m not a lawyer so I can’t really do shit, now can I?

Written by sticksinthehead

23 February 2010 at 11:59 am

Leave a Reply

