sticksinthehead

life with sticks in one's head

Everything is different and everything is the same.

leave a comment »

I shaved my head (not quite shaven but as close as one can get) and got a tattoo last week. Tattoo is text of my favourite Sam Beckett line (from one of his short novels):

Ever tried. Ever Failed.
No Matter.
Try again. Fail again.
Fail better.

The tattoo artist, Bird, was a lovely man and we had a great chat. I had it placed on my inner forearm, such that I can read it, but it is rather difficult for others to read. A tattoo just for me. Spent my birthday money on it, along with a new wireless duplex printer and some paints and card stock paper for making books. With the new printer, I won’t have to take projects out of the house to print them…

In World Cup, my heart has been won by the Germans. They have thrown off their regular style of play in favor of a combination of defensive and midfield efficiency with the beautiful game through midfield and attack. They play beautifully, and seem to be experiencing the joy of football in every game. I came into the tournament rooting for Spain, since my favorite players (Xavi and Iniesta) are there. But their brand of the beautiful game (small, quick triangular passing along with beautiful runs and dribbles) seem squeezed by the center of the field, and they haven’t managed either to overcome that problem or adjust to it.

Also, Ozil is a fox. And Puyol, for all of my respect for his game, is more like a scarred gorrila. I’m a lady, what can I say?

At the moment, we are all, sportwise, blessed by the great big nothing in the sky. wc2010 AND tdf…

Written by sticksinthehead

5 July 2010 at 10:10 am

Posted in sport

Leave a Reply

