sticksinthehead

life with sticks in one's head

City cutbacks

leave a comment »

I hadn’t fully appreciated the extent of cutbacks to the libraries until today. First, I got lost trying to find the library. Well, not lost, but walked in the wrong direction. When I finally made it there, about 11am, it was closed. Doesn’t open until noon. A public library that doesn’t open until noon? That’s what you get living in a city trying desperately to avoid complete financial collapse. I waited around, met a really nice guy named Larry who’s a cook. When I finally got in, I had a moderately productive day reading about wage issues in collective bargaining and being puzzled my this week’s essay question. I hope against hope that the hours will be able to be extended during the summer, but I’m not at all hopeful. Near the end of my time in the library, I was furtively watching what was clearly a “big brother” interaction. The “big brother” was helping his “little brother” do his homework. He was doing a very good job. What was disheartening was hearing this boy say, “I hate reading. I hate writing. I hate math.” His big brother did his best to encourage him, but I felt I was bearing witness to the failure of our public schools (and also undoubtedly the results of a small childhood devoid of a parent’s reading to him). Anyway, I realized that my gut reaction, “but reading and writing are such fun!” was pretty useless, and had a hard time thinking of a good way to respond. Perhaps,”the more you read and write, the easier it gets, until one day it might even be fun”? Wow, powerless…

Written by sticksinthehead

16 February 2011 at 6:15 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

