sticksinthehead

life with sticks in one's head

Replacing clothing allowance for foster kids with cards to Salvation Army

with one comment

My super-accomplished friend Chris retweeted Rachel Maddow’s disbelieving response to the following story: http://is.gd/4vDqXE. I too am upset by this, but I think for different reasons. My problem is with the STATE telling foster kids how to spend their pittance, especially at a thoroughly Christian org (Salvy Army), though apparently the “cards” can be used at Goodwill and other thrift shops. Now, there’s a difference between the State telling people they MUST, and people discovering for themselves that they can. The difference is between oppression and knowledge. But I can’t help thinking that some people’s rancor at this issue may in fact stem from some weird bourgeois un-conscience. As if what strips people of their dignity isn’t that they’re told they have to use this shop or that one, but that it’s this THRIFT SHOP or that one. Like it’s undignified to shop at thrift shops. That the oppression isn’t in the control, but in the non-bourgy nature of the control. And that really fucking pisses me off. In one way this is a minor point — I think shopping at thrift stores is awesome, you can get great clothes for cheap that, while they probably were made in a sweatshop, weren’t made in one for you. And, you’re recycling, lessening the huge amounts of waste that our consumer culture generates hourly. If you ask me, there’s nothing inherently dignified in the Bourg.

Written by sticksinthehead

25 April 2011 at 10:17 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I just found your site and reading all your posts and this one stuck out with me. I love what you have to say. I remember this being reported on and found it heartbreaking. These children have already been through terrible times and to tell them they can’t take the little bit they get from the state and treat themselves to something new now and again is terrible. The lengths GOP will go to save money continues to surprise me. In particular in Michigan. The Republican legislature has been particular atrocious.

    I am a person who actually enjoys going to Goodwill and various thrift stores to see what I can find. I live in Seattle and I frequent the Goodwill in Bellevue/Redmond where all the Microsoft millionaires live and you wouldn’t believe what these people will donate—high dollar and barely used, some with tags still on them.

    Angela Wade

    26 June 2011 at 3:51 pm


Leave a Reply

